Creating and Removing Users

When you first get your hands on your nonprofit’s new website, one user will already be created as an administrator. As an administrator, you can add additional users to your website.

Maybe you have another person on your team who needs access to the whole back end of the site. Or maybe you have someone on your team who just plans to write blog posts for your organization, but does not need access to everything. Great news! There are user roles for these scenarios and more. Later, if you need to remove or delete a user, you can do that, too.

User Role Options

  • Administrator – has access to all the administration features within the site, and can update pages, blog posts, events, volunteer opportunities and any other settings throughout the website. Someone with an Administrator role can also update the Privacy Policy page. All other roles do not have access to update the Privacy Policy content.
  • Editor – can publish and manage pages and posts, including the posts of other users. An editor role is great for someone who needs to edit content throughout the site, including page content, events, volunteer opportunities and blog posts. Editors do not have access to the “Appearance” functionality in the back end, which houses the widgets options for sidebars and the site customizer.
  • Author – can publish and manage their own posts and events, including responding to comments and adding media like photos and downloadable files. This role does not have the ability to edit the content of other users. If someone at your organization only needs to be in your website for blog post writing purposes or creating new upcoming events for the site, this might be a good role for them. Read more about adding guest authors.
  • Contributor – can write and manage their own posts and events but cannot publish them or add media such as photos or downloadable files. They also cannot create or edit volunteer opportunities or pages of any kind. You might give an intern or guest blog post writer Contributor access if you want someone else to review and approve their content before it gets published to the live site.
  • Subscriber – can only manage their own profile. They can also read and comment on posts on the front end of your site but cannot write or publish posts. The only time you’d likely assign someone to this role is if you’re making some updates to the site and want to restrict people from making additional changes without removing the user altogether.

You’ll see some other role options when you go in to add a user to a role, but focus on assigning users one of the five roles listed above.

How Do I Add a New User?

There are a few ways to create a new user for your website. All require you to be logged into the back end of your site. The following is the easiest way to create a new user:

(1) When you log in, you’ll be looking at your site’s dashboard. On the left-hand side, hover over the “Users” item and click “Add New”.

Add a New User

(2) You’ll be taken to a new screen to add in the new user’s information. Skip down to the section heading that says “Add New User”.

  • Create a username for the user. This cannot be changed later. Choose something that will scale with the rest of your organization, like first initial and last name. For example, John Doe’s username would be “jdoe”. We recommend using all lowercase letters.
  • Enter their existing email address.
  • Select the role you’d like for them to have. You can edit this at any time.
  • If you leave the “Skip Confirmation Email” unchecked, the person will be notified that you’ve created a user for them. Then they can set their password to log in and out.
  • Click the blue “Add New User” button.
User Settings

(3) Once your user is created, click back to “All Users” in the dark gray left-hand navigation under the main “Users” link.

(4) You can then set up any additional information you’d like for your user by clicking their username, which should now show up in the main list of website users.

  • You’ll see a lot of form fields you can fill out on your user’s profile page. You don’t need to fill out most of these. The main items to update are the name fields so their name displays properly across the site, rather than the shortened username like “jdoe.”
  • Be sure to click the blue “Update User” button at the bottom of the page.
  • You’ll notice right away that the name at the top of the user profile page has changed to the user’s first and last name, rather than their username.

How Do I Delete a User?

On the opposite end of the spectrum, if you’d like to remove a user, go to the All Users page using the left-hand dark gray navigation. Hover over the user you’d like to remove, and you’ll see a few links pop up right below their username. Click remove. You’ll have to click one more button to confirm the removal, and you’re set.

Remove User

Still Have Questions?

Reach out to us within your Dashboard. Log into your website and then fill out the Website Support form. You’ll hear back from one of Wired Impact’s team members within one business day.